Upcoming Dissertation Defense:


Ricardo Gutierrez Ozuna on December 19th, 2017 at 10:00 - 11:00 AM in Regents hall, room 239
Title: Population genetic differentiation, mating system, and effective population size of the tuliptree (Liriodendron tulipifera L.) in the Mid-Atlantic United States.

Committee members:
Dr. Matthew Hamilton, advisor
Dr. Martha Weiss
Dr. Gina Wimp
Dr. John Braverman SJ from St. Joseph’s University in Philadelphia, PA.

Elizabeth Lee on December 8th, 2017 at 1pm-2pm in Reiss bulding, room 112
Title: Epidemiological inference and surveillance with high-resolution medical claims data: the case of influenza

Committee members:
Dr. Shweta Bansal, advisor
Dr. Ali Arab
Dr. John Kraemer
Dr. Cecile Viboud

Pratha Sah on Monday, October 16, 2017 at 2pm-3pm in Healy Hall, Room 106
Title: Interactions Between Social Structure, Contact Networks, and Infectious Disease Spread in Wildlife Populations

Committee members:
Dr. Shweta Bansal, advisor
Dr. Janet Mann
Dr. Sivan Leviyang
Dr. Ken Nussear

Theodore Julius Picou on Monday, April 24, 2017 at 11am-12pm in Regents, Room 239 
Title: The Hydrodynamic Model of Giardia lamblia Attachment

Committee members:
Dr. Heidi Elmendorf
Dr. Jeff Urbach
Dr. Anne Rosenwald
Dr. Peter Olmstead


Megan Wallen on Friday, December 2nd, 2016 at 11:15 am-12:45 pm in Reiss, Room 112.
Title: Social Factors Affecting Femail Behaviour, Ecology, and Fitness in Wild Bottlenose Dolphins 

Committee members:
Dr. Janet Mann, advisor
Dr. Peter Armbruster
Dr. Shweta Bansal 
Dr. Carson Murray (GWU)

Shu Yang on Monday, October 17, 2016 at 1:00 pm in Regents Hall, Room 239.  
Title:  The roles of two small GTP-binding proteins Arl1 and Ypt6 in autophagy

Committee members:
Dr. Anne Rosenwald, advisor
Dr. Ronda Rolfes
Dr. Peter Williamson (NIH)
Dr. Julie Donaldson (NIH)

Xin Huang on Wednesday, August 24, 2016 at 1:00 pm in Regents Hall, Room 239.  
Title: The Molecular Basis of Photoperiodic Diapause in Aedes albopictus

Committee members:
Dr. Peter Armbruster, advisor
Dr. Martha Weiss (Committee Chair)
Dr. Shaun Brinsmade
Dr. Nathan Edwards 

Sweta Batni on Monday, April 4th, 2016 at 1:00 pm in Healy Hall, Room 106
Title:Integrating Epidemiological and Molecular Approaches to Study the Transmission and Treatment of Giardia lamblia

Committee members:
Dr. Heidi Elmendorf, advisor
Dr. Ronda Rolfes
Dr. Christopher Loffredo
Dr. Shweta Bansal

Elizabeth Steidle on Tuesday, February 26, 2016, at 12:00 pm in ICC, Room 107
Title: Siw14 Is A Novel 5-Diphosphoinositol Pentakisphosphate (5pp-Ip5) Phosphatase That Negatively Regulates The Stress Response.

Committee members:
Dr. Ronda Rolfes, advisor
Dr. Anne Rosenwald
Dr. Elliott Crooke
Dr. Adam Resnick

Jin Jing on Tuesday, January 12, 2016, at 1:00 pm in Regents Hall, Room 239
Title: Characterization of Sox11 in Neurogenesis.

Committee members:
Dr. Elena Silva, advisor
Dr. Sally Moody
Dr. Thomas Sargent
Dr. Thomas Coate


Jenny Maloney on Friday, April 10, 2015, at 9:00 am in Reiss building, Room 284
Title: Giardia lamblia, The Intestinal Microbiome, and Innate Immunity: A Study of the Host-Parasite Relationship during G. lamblia Infection.

Committee members:
Dr. Steven Singer, advisor
Dr. Heidi Elmendorf
Dr. Tom Wynn
Dr. Scott Dawson

Chao Chen  on Friday, May 8, 2015, at 2:00 pm in Regents Hall, Room 239
Title: The Role of SOX4 and SOX11 in Cortical Development

Committee members:
Dr. Maria J. Donoghue, advisor
Dr. Elena Silva
Dr. Kathy Maguire Zeiss
Dr. Baoji Xu